Getting ready for my first 600km audax

When I started audaxing earlier this year, I really didn’t expect to be completing my first Super Randonneur series this season and yet, I’ve only got a 600km to complete the set of rides required and I’m doing the Flatlands this weekend.

It’s a bit of a step up from the 200, 300 & 400km rides completed so far, as it’s long enough that I’m probably going to have to get some sleep at some point along the way. Being a no-frills event, there aren’t any facilities provided at the controls for sleeping, so I’m taking a bivi bag and a few other bits and pieces so that I can stop wherever tiredness catches up with me and get a couple of hours kip in a field or, if I can find one, a convenient bus shelter!

Carrying the extra kit presents a bit of a challenge as I took the racks off my bike a long time ago and I don’t really want to put them back and use panniers if I can help it. I’ve got a decent sized saddle bag and hopefully with that and a stuff sack tied to the bars, I can carry everything I need without adding too much weight or wind resistance.

After a few attempts at folding and rolling the stuff in various ways, it all seems to fit:

Good to go with bivvi bag and tarp
Good to go with bivvi bag and tarp

On the front, there’s a bivi bag, self inflating mattress and a silk sleeping bag liner (~1.5kg). On the back, tied to the top of the saddlebag, a basha and pole (~1.5kg). In the bag, 6 aluminium pegs, 15m of paracord and a knife (?.?kg).

The old light mount doesn’t work with the saddlebag support attached, so I’ve thrown together a new one which attaches under the bag:

Lighting up!
Lighting up!

Hopefully it’ll all hold together and I’ll get round without too much trouble or too many regrets!!

Leave a comment